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WAGE & HOUR OVERVIEW 

Minimum Wage Child Labor 

Prevailing Wage Dismissal Rights 



Prevailing Wage 
What is it? 

• “It is hereby declared to be the policy of the 
state of Missouri that a wage of no less than 
the prevailing hourly rate of wages for work 
of a similar character in the locality in 
which the work is performed shall be paid 
to all workmen employed by or on behalf of 
any public body engaged in public works 
exclusive of maintenance work.” RSMo. 290.220 



Prevailing Wage 
Why does it exist? 

• “The general intent of a national prevailing 
wage law is to stabilize local wages and 
industry standards by preventing unfair 
and/or unregulated bidding practices, etc.” 
The Adverse Economic Impact from Repeal of the Prevailing Wage 
Law in Missouri, Michael P. Kelsay, Ph.D. et al, 2004. 
 



Prevailing Wage 
How is it determined? 

• Wage Surveys (LS-04) 
– Submitted throughout the year on commercial 

construction projects. 
• Mode Method Prevails 

– Highest number of hours at any given rate. 
• Project Notifications (PW-2) 
• Wage Determination requests (PW-3) 



Prevailing Wage 
How is it determined? 

• Heavy vs. Building 



Prevailing Wage 
When do I need to pay PW rates? 

Construction by or on behalf of 
Public Body of Public Works + + = Prevailing 

Wage 
Applicable 

"Construction" includes construction, reconstruction, improvement,  
enlargement, alteration, painting and decorating, or major repair. (290.210) 

"Public works" means all fixed works constructed for public use  
or benefit or paid for wholly or in part out of public funds… (290.210) 

"Public body" means the state of Missouri or any officer, official, authority,  
board or commission of the state, or other political subdivision thereof, or  
any institution supported in whole or in part by public funds. (290.210) 
*”on behalf of” is a control test, did the public body give approval, input, oversight, or a motivating role, etc. 



Prevailing Wage 
Who receives PW rates? 

• “…all workmen employed by or on behalf 
of any public body engaged in the 
construction of public works...” RSMo. 290.230 
 

• “Workmen means laborers, workmen and 
mechanics.” RSMo. 290.210 



Prevailing Wage 
What do I need to do to comply? 

• Familiarize yourself with the Occupational 
Title Rule to ensure proper classifications.  



Prevailing Wage 
What do I need to do to comply? 

• “Submit certified copies of their current 
payrolls to the contracting public body.” 8 
CSR 30-3.010(6) 

• LS-57 Certified Payroll form. 
• Basic Hourly Rate of Pay + Hourly Fringe 

Benefit must equal Prevailing Wage 
Combined Rates. 

• Pay attention to Overtime and Holiday 
schedules. 







Prevailing Wage 
OSHA 10 

• OSHA 10 Hour Safety Training 
– “All employees who have not previously 

completed the program are required to complete 
the program within sixty days of beginning 
work on such construction project.” RSMo. 292.675  
 

– The contractor shall forfeit as a penalty to 
the public body…$2,500 plus $100 per 
employee per day. 



Prevailing Wage 
Why should I comply? 

• “The employer shall forfeit as a penalty to 
the state, county, city…one hundred dollars 
for each workman employed, for each 
calendar day…” RSMo. 290.250 

• Workers due double the difference in wage 
and reasonable attorney fees. RSMo. 290.300 



Prevailing Wage 
Why should I comply? 

• “Any officer, official, member…who 
willfully violates…the provisions and 
requirements of sections 290.210 to 290.340 
shall be punished for each violation thereof 
by a fine note exceeding five hundred 
dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding 
six months.” RSMo. 290.340 
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Minimum Wage 
What is it? 

• “Except as may be otherwise provided 
pursuant to sections 290.500 to 290.530, 
effective January 1, 2007, every employer 
shall pay to each employee wages at the rate 
of…” RSMo. 290.502 

Regular Employees 
January 1, 2013 

$7.35/hr 
Tipped Employees 

January 1, 2013 

$3.675/hr 



Minimum Wage 
Exemptions? 

• Agriculture; individual employed less than 
4 months in a resident or day camp for 
children or youth; educational organization 
where employment is in lieu of the 
requirement that the individual pay tuition, 
housing, etc.; occasional employment on 
private residence less than 6 hrs/occasion; 
retail or service grossing less than 
$500,000. RSMo. 290.500 



Minimum Wage 
Overtime? 

• “No employer shall employ any of his 
employees for a workweek longer than forty 
hours unless such employee receives 
compensation for his employment in excess 
of the hours above specified at a rate not 
less than one and one-half times the regular 
rate at which he is employed.” RSMo. 290.505(1) 

• “…this section shall be interpreted in 
accordance with the [FLSA].” RSMo. 290.505(4) 



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
 

• Disclaimer 
– RSMo. 290.505 is a state law that is interpreted 

in accordance with the FLSA.  The State of 
Missouri cannot enforce the FLSA, nor can the 
State interpret it as a federal law or 
requirement.  Employers must abide by both 
State and Federal laws and should contact the 
USDOL for questions related to the FLSA. 



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Overtime Exemptions 

• Executive 
– Compensation > $455 a week. 
– Primary duty is management of the enterprise 

in which employed or of a customarily 
recognized department or subdivision. 

– Directs the work of 2 or more employees. 
– Has authority to, or offer suggestions, as to the 

hiring, firing, advancement, etc, of other 
employees 

Ex. Mid-level Managers (watch for concurrent duties which can effect the exemption) 



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Overtime Exemptions 

• Administrative 
– Compensation > $455 a week. 
– Primary duty performing non-manual work 

related to the mgmt or general business 
operations of the business. 

– Primary duty includes the exercise of discretion 
and independent judgment with respect to 
matters of significance. 

Ex. Executive Assistant, HR Managers, Purchasing Agents, Public Investigators, Educational Admin. 



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Overtime Exemptions 

• Professional 
– Compensation > $455 a week. 
– Primary duty is performance of work: 

• Requiring advanced knowledge in field of science 
customarily acquired by a prolonged course of 
specialized intellectual instruction. 

• Requiring invention, imagination, originality or 
talent, etc. 

Ex. Nurses, Physician Assistants, Accountants, Chefs, Paralegals, Athletic Trainers, Teachers.  



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Overtime Exemptions 

• Others 
– Computer Employees 

• Compensation > $455 a week. 
• Primary duty analysis, design, development, testing. 
• Analysts, programmers, engineers . 

– Outside Sales Employees 
• Primary duty is making sales, taking orders. 
• Regularly engaged away from employers place of 

business. 

Ex. Analysts, programmers, engineers, door to door salesmen.  



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Fire Protection & Law Enforcement (Sec. 207(k), Fact Sh. 8) 

• Includes security personnel in correctional 
institutions 

• 28 consecutive days, 212 (fire) or 171 
(police), as opposed to the typical 40hr/wk. 



RSMo. 290.505 and the FLSA 
Compensatory Time (Sec. 207(m)(2)(B)) 

• Employees of a public agency may receive 
compensatory time off at a rate not less than 
1 ½ hours for each hour of employment in 
lieu of compensation. 
– Public Safety 480 max, others 240 max. 
– Paid at current rate, or 3yr average upon 

separation, whichever is higher. 
– Shall be permitted to use within a reasonable 

period if not an unduly disruption. 



Minimum Wage 
Credit for Goods and Services 

• Employee Benefit 
– Meals 
– Lodging 
– Tuition furnished by college to 

student employees. 
– Company store merchandise 
– Fuel 
– Transportation for the employee 

between home and work when not 
necessary for the employment 

 
 

• Not Employee Benefit 
– Tools 
– Equipment 
– Uniforms 
– Laundry 
– Breakage or loss 

•  Credit toward Minimum Wage Employee 
    Benefit RSMo. 290.512, 8 CSR 30-4.050 
 



Minimum Wage 
Paid how often?  Reduction in wages? 

• “All corporations doing business in this 
state…shall pay the wages and salaries of 
their employees as often as semimonthly, 
within sixteen days of the end of each 
payroll period...” RSMo. 290.080 
 



Minimum Wage 
Paid how often?  Reduction in wages? 

• “Any…company or corporation doing 
business in this state, and desiring to reduce 
the wages of its employees…shall give to 
the employees to be affected thereby thirty 
days’ notice thereof…” RSMo. 290.100 
 



Minimum Wage 
Record Retention? 

• Kept for a period of 3 years on or about the 
premises; Employee name, address, 
occupation, rate of pay, hours/day/work 
week worked, record of goods and services 
provided as credit toward wage. RSMo 290.520 

• Open for inspection by the DLS. 
 



Minimum Wage 
Employer Post? 

• Summary of wage law posted in a 
conspicuous place about the premises. RSMo 
290.522 



MinimumWage 
Why should I comply? 

• “Any employer who hinders the director in 
the performance of his duties in the 
enforcement of sections 290.500 to 290.530 
by any of the following acts is guilty of a 
class C misdemeanor:…(8) Paying or 
agreeing to pay wages at a rate less than the 
rate applicable...” RSMo. 290.525 
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Child Labor 
What is it? 

• “The purpose of this chapter is to ensure 
that no child under sixteen years of age is 
employed in an occupation, or in a manner, 
that is hazardous or detrimental to the 
child’s safety, health, morals, educational 
processes or general well-being.” RSMo. 294.005 



Child Labor 
Work Permit? 

• “No child may be employed in the 
entertainment industry without an 
entertainment work permit issued by the 
director.” RSMo. 294.022.2 



Child Labor 
Work Certificates? 

• “A child may not be employed during the 
regular school term unless the child has 
been issued a work certificate or a work 
permit pursuant to the provisions of this 
chapter.” RSMo. 294.024 



Child Labor 
Prohibited Occupations? 

• “A child under sixteen shall not be 
employed or permitted to work by any 
person, firm, or corporation in connection 
with...” RSMo. 294.040 
– Power driven machinery, except lawn & garden used in domestic 

service; ladders; mine or quarry; plant manufacturing; operating 
M/V; exposure to toxic/hazardous chemicals; hotel/motel; 
businesses where alcohol sales account for 50% of sales; etc. 



Child Labor 
Why should I comply? 

• “Any person, firm or corporation who 
violates any provision of this chapter 
shall…be civilly liable for damages of not 
less than $50 but not more than $1,000 for 
each violation.  Each day a violation 
continues shall constitute a separate 
violation.” RSMo. 294.121 



Child Labor 
Why should I comply? 

• “Any person, firm or corporation violating 
the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a 
class C misdemeanor.” RSMo. 294.110 
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Dismissal Rights 
What is it? 

• “Whenever any person, firm or corporation 
doing business in this state shall discharge, 
with or without cause, or refuse to further 
employ any servant or employee thereof, 
the unpaid wages…shall be and become due 
and payable on the day of the discharge…” 
RSMo. 290.110 



Dismissal Rights 
What is it? 

• “…and the servant or employee may 
request in writing…to have the money due 
him, or a valid check therefor, sent to any 
station or office…” RSMo. 290.110 



Dismissal Rights 
What is it? 

• “…does not reach station or office within 7 
days from the date it is so requested, then as 
a penalty for such nonpayment the 
wages…shall continue from the date of the 
discharge…until paid…shall not continue 
more than 60 days…” RSMo. 290.110 



Wage & Hour 
Where can I get additional information? 

• http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/General/  
 

• laborstandards@labor.mo.gov 
• (573) 751-3403 

http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/General/�
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